INDIANAPOLIS – The Indiana Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust Program Committee (committee) approved $5.535 million in funding to the Indiana Utility Group to install at least 61 DC Fast electric vehicle (EV) charging stations across Indiana at its meeting on May 20, 2021.

The Indiana Utility Group is made up of eight Indiana utilities: Hoosier Energy REC, Inc.; Duke Energy Indiana; Indiana Michigan Power; AES Indiana (Indianapolis Power & Light Company); Northern Indiana Public Service Co. (NIPSCO); Vectren; Wabash Valley Power Alliance; and Crawfordsville Electric Light & Power.


While the plans are in their early stages, the committee is excited to fund DC Fast EV charging stations to help meet Indiana’s future transportation needs as more auto manufacturers offer EV choices. Having a network of DC Fast charging stations that can charge some EVs in as little as 20 minutes allows Indiana consumers to more easily consider the environmental benefits of purchasing an electric vehicle. The charging stations will help Indiana continue to be a leader in meeting transportation needs of Hoosiers and visitors as they travel throughout the state.


Further details will be made available on the Indiana Volkswagen Environmental Mitigation Trust Program website at