Hoosier Energy Apprenticeship Training and Safety Program

EnergyLines November 2017

Leaders of the Hoosier Energy Apprenticeship Training and Safety (HEATS) program honored the 38th graduating class on Oct. 20 at the French Lick Resort. Five apprentices from Hoosier Energy and 12 from member distribution cooperatives received diplomas marking the completion of the program.


The nationally recognized training program requires non-indentured graduates to complete 576 hours of classroom instruction. Indentured graduates are also required to complete 8,000 hours of on-the-job training as well as earn an Applied Science Associate Degree from Ivy Tech.


Dave Helton is part of the safety and training team at Hoosier Energy and the HEATS program. During the graduation ceremony he reminded graduates of an important safety message.


“We have taught you to always wear your personal protection equipment. But the best thing we have concerning safety is each other. Always watch out for one another at all times in both the simple and complex jobs,” said Helton.


Since its inception in 1975, the program has graduated 638 apprentices. Early in the program, HEATS focused on training line workers. Over the years, courses were added and the curriculum now includes training for distribution and transmission meter-relay technicians and linemen as well as substation personnel, power plant maintenance mechanics, electricians and instrumentation and control technicians.


Linemen Program Graduates

Caleb Meyer – Hoosier Energy, Indentured

Tyler Powell – Henry County REMC, Indentured

Clint Schroeder – Clark County REMC, Indentured

Eric Seibert – WWV REMC, Non-Indentured

Scott Strange – Orange County REMC, Indentured

John Worland – Hoosier Energy, Indentured

Johnathan Herbert – RushShelby Energy, Indentured

Wes Jones – Henry County REMC, Indentured

Ian Kindler – Southeastern Indiana REMC, Non-Indentured

Matthew Busald – RushShelby Energy, Indentured

Jacob Durcholz – Dubois REC, Indentured

Brandon Bambusch – Orange County REMC, Indentured

Ronald Barnhart – Southeastern Indiana REMC, Non-Indentured


Substation Mechanic Program Graduates

Jared Bartlett – Hoosier Energy, Indentured

Rick Mauder – Hoosier Energy, Non-Indentured

Randy Franklin – Hoosier Energy, Indentured


Meter Relay Program Graduate

Eric Faulkenberg – Southern Indiana Power, Indentured


HEATS GRADUATES: Back row left to right: Brandon Bambusch, Clint Schroeder, Matthew Busald, Rick Mauder, Ian Kindler, Jonathan Worland, Jacob Durcholz, Caleb Meyer Front row left to right: Eric Seibert, Johnathan Herbert, Scott Strange, Wes Jones, Tyler Powell, Ronald Barnhart, Eric Faulkenberg. NOTE: Not all graduates were able to attend the award ceremony. The full list of graduates is below.


Download PDF